The 108 Step Curriculum - Overview

At our school we use a 108 step curriculum (shown below) which is broken down into 9 levels:

  • Level 1
  • Level 2 - White Sash
  • Level 3 - Yellow Sash
  • Level 4 - Orange Sash
  • Level 5 - Red Sash
  • Level 6 - Green Sash
  • Level 7 - Blue Sash
  • Level 8 - Brown Sash
  • Level 9 - Black Sash

It's a proven method to integrate the many different courses needed to develop the high level complex skill that is required for self defense.

Take a few minutes to read through the different courses (down the left side) and note how they overlap and relate to the levels (across the top). You will be working on elements from different courses at the same time in your training, and although the elements are taught using distinct pieces (part practice) they will be integrated into a complex skill by using drills that require increasing levels of whole practice.